Easy chocolate sauce

July 1, 2011 § 6 Comments

 

20110701-061046.jpg

Yesterday was a blur, I woke up after a night I didn’t have much sleep in, which passed with tears and blank staring into the ceiling. I was hugging my daughter the whole night, not able to imagine how my cousin feels. She lost her son. A 13yr old boy that was an angel to everyone around him.

His death was a shock to everyone! He was well and active with a long history of childhood Bronchial Asthma, which he was on treatment for. He had a sudden severe attack that took him away from us.
I pray for him and for his mom that Allah gives her the power and will to get over this loss, for there is no greater loss than a parent to burry their child.

I woke up today needing a sort of comfort that I knew I’ll find in chocolate.
I had lost my appetite since I heard the news. Wanted to make some hot chocolate but coffee was more needed to help me get through the day.

My mother in law was in the kitchen prepping for a cake, I was praying she would pick the can of cocoa powder a sign she’s making chocolate cake, and she did!

When I went to eat some later I saw the cake toppingless… No sauce no ganache no frosting!
I ran to the kitchen to make some. I get to the pantry, no chocolate chips, OMG!
I remembered my sister making a chocolate sauce out of things we normally had in the pantry. I try to remember, imitate, and voila a brilliantly good sauce was born! It is perfect over dry choco cake, fruit or ice-cream.

My easy chocolate sauce:

3/4 cup yoghurt
3-4 tablespoons cocoa powder
3 table spoons sugar
A nob or two butter

Heat all the ingredients in a sauce pan over medium heat and cook till the raw flavor goes away (few minutes). Adjust the flavor to your desire adding more or less cocoa and sugar.
Enjoy warm over anything you fancy.

Your prayers for my cousin and her lost son (Abdullah)
Fatma

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to Easy chocolate sauce

  • Fatma, I can’t even imagine what your cousin and the entire family is going through right now. All my prayers and wishes are with you.

    The photograph is really phenomenal – I guess photography really does run in your genes. Sometimes sinking into the blog and photography really helps to resurface from sorrow, even if for a few brief hours…and I’m glad you found a way to do that so beautifully, with chocolate no less, in this post.

    May God be with you all.

  • Fatma, this is a tragic story. I can’t think of anything worse than my child dying before me. I don’t know what to say.
    The chocolate sauce you coconcted sounds very promising. I love the ingredients list. Will try that very soon.

  • Nappytales says:

    Offering prayers for your family, especially to your cousin.

    It’s nice to know that you somehow found comfort in making and enjoying the chocolate sauce.

  • Sally says:

    Thinking of you all at this time.

  • Hugs and prayers from all of us are on your way. I cannot even begin to imagine what it must be like to lose a life that we create inside us.

  • Fatma, i can´t even express in words how i felt when i read this….my thoughts are with your family….

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Easy chocolate sauce at figsandsaffron.

meta

