shakshouka

June 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

(previously posted on fatmazkitchen)

Cracking the code to the famous “Baker & Spice“‘s Shakshooka: Last week I had breakfast with my two best friends (my sisters) at Baker & Spice souq albahaar, downtown Burj Khalifa. Although I’m not a big fan of their menu, which was disappointing on several occasions, I opted for the highly raved about Shakshooka. It was brought to the table family style, in a big frying pan to share in the middle of the table. It is not the usual middle eastern Shakshooka that we are used to, where the eggs are mixed into the spicy tomato sauce, but rather eggs poached over the tomatoes. The tomato sauce was perfect, spicy tangy and sweet tomatoness oozing out of it. The eggs perfectly sitting on top of the sauce waiting for you to scoop out! Point is, for the first time I truly enjoyed a dish at Baker & Spice. A couple of days later I open the pantry and a jar of Arrabbiata pasta sauce is screaming at me… “It was me it was me!” I’m not crazy I swear. I opened the jar took a sniff, it’s a close one. Tasted it, well it was indeed the same sauce used for the Shakshooka! I placed the bottle in the fridge, saving it for the weekend, and this morning, waiting for it eagerly, I made the Shakshooka. It was YUMMY! Although my 17month old didn’t let me enjoy it to the most but nonetheless it was good. I used Marks and Spencer’s Arrabbiata pasta sauce seasoned it with salt & pepper and added fresh chopped coriander. Switched my broiler on high. Heated the sauce first  in a frying pan and cracked the eggs into it, once the eggs started to get opaque on the bottom I transferred the pan under the grill to cook the top part. A few seconds later it was ready. Steamy spicy and the smell was amazing! We dunked pita bread into it and savored the joy of my triumph.

Cracking the code to the famous “Baker & Spice“‘s Shakshooka:

Last week I had breakfast with my two best friends (my sisters) at Baker & Spice souq albahaar, downtown Burj Khalifa. Although I’m not a big fan of their menu, which was disappointing on several occasions, I opted for the highly raved about Shakshooka.

It was brought to the table family style, in a big frying pan to share in the middle of the table.

It is not the usual middle eastern Shakshooka that we are used to, where the eggs are mixed into the spicy tomato sauce, but rather eggs poached over the tomatoes.

The tomato sauce was perfect, spicy tangy and sweet tomatoness oozing out of it. The eggs perfectly sitting on top of the sauce waiting for you to scoop out!

Point is, for the first time I truly enjoyed a dish at Baker & Spice.

A couple of days later I open the pantry and a jar of Arrabbiata pasta sauce is screaming at me… “It was me it was me!” I’m not crazy I swear.

I opened the jar took a sniff, it’s a close one. Tasted it, well it was indeed the same sauce used for the Shakshooka!

I placed the bottle in the fridge, saving it for the weekend, and this morning, waiting for it eagerly, I made the Shakshooka. It was YUMMY!

Although my 17month old didn’t let me enjoy it to the most but nonetheless it was good.

I used Marks and Spencer’s Arrabbiata pasta sauce seasoned it with salt & pepper and added fresh chopped coriander. Switched my broiler on high. Heated the sauce first in a frying pan and cracked the eggs into it, once the eggs started to get opaque on the bottom I transferred the pan under the grill to cook the top part. A few seconds later it was ready. Steamy spicy and the smell was amazing!

We dunked pita bread into it and savored the joy of my triumph.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading shakshouka at figsandsaffron.

meta

