organic bruschetta

June 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

(previously posted on Fatmazkitchen)

Cooking out of my BumbleBox take#2

Cooking out of my BumbleBox take#2 To whoever is reading my blog, if you do exist… sorry for not posting my promised daily recipes out of my BumbleBox(organic veggies) throughout this week, but I have been extremely busy! Buying this box not knowing nor expecting what comes in it and trying to cook it off, not to waste your money, is extremely fun! My go to source for this week’s recipes is Jamie Oliver’s book “Jamie at Home”. Jamie Oliver is one of the reasons I got more involved and passionate about food. I still remember the first time I met him…. Just got home from uni, tiered and hungry, switch on TV and flip through the channels to see, on BBCFood at that time, a rather interesting quirky young man cooking in such an appealing way that you cant resist smiling while looking at him! It was the “highland fling” episode from the Naked Chef show and love at first sight (hubby if you are reading you are a different deeper love :p) Back to my cooking. Bruschetta is one of my favourite things to eat, get a good loaf of bread grill it, garlic and olive oil and you’ll never be disappointed no matter what you put over it. Last night I made two kinds of bruschetta, tomato chili buffalo mozzarella  and grilled bell peppers. They are both basic and simple, since I got fresh flavorful organic veggies, you can play and add flavours as you feel like that day. My basic bruschetta recipe: good loaf of bread sliced, i got Eric Kayser’s plain baguette clove of garlic, whole olive oil I was told from by italian once that the bruscheta should be grilled then drizzled with oil not vice versa. So since then that’s what I do. I turn my broiler on high and place the oven tray on the upper rack. and grill my slices of bread till brown on both sides. the minute I get them out I rub with garlic and drizzle with olive oil on one side. top with what your heart desires. Tomato Salad: Any selection of tomatoes you fancy, sliced, chopped or just cut up in half in case of small cherry tomato Red chili, finely chopped Fresh Basil Lemon juice Extra virgin olive oil Salt and freshly ground pepper Fresh mozzarella, buffalo or cow Place ur tomatoes on a plate scatter with chili and teared basil all over, drizzle with lemon juice, olive oil and season with salt and pepper. slice or tear your mozzarella over the tomatoes. Grilled Rainbow Bell Pepper: colorful selection of peppers balsamic vinegar extra virgin olive oil salt and freshly ground black pepper Grill your bell peppers on high heat till the skin bubble and get charred. place in a bowl and cover with cling film till it cools. tear the skin off the peppers and slice thinly. drizzle with balsamic vinegar and olive oil and season to taste.

To whoever is reading my blog, if you do exist… sorry for not posting my promised daily recipes out of my BumbleBox(organic veggies) throughout this week, but I have been extremely busy!

Buying this box not knowing nor expecting what comes in it and trying to cook it off, not to waste your money, is extremely fun!

My go to source for this week’s recipes is Jamie Oliver’s book “Jamie at Home”. Jamie Oliver is one of the reasons I got more involved and passionate about food. I still remember the first time I met him…. Just got home from uni, tiered and hungry, switch on TV and flip through the channels to see, on BBCFood at that time, a rather interesting quirky young man cooking in such an appealing way that you cant resist smiling while looking at him! It was the “highland fling” episode from the Naked Chef show and love at first sight (hubby if you are reading you are a different deeper love :p)

Back to my cooking.

Bruschetta is one of my favourite things to eat, get a good loaf of bread grill it, garlic and olive oil and you’ll never be disappointed no matter what you put over it.

Last night I made two kinds of bruschetta, tomato chili buffalo mozzarella and grilled bell peppers.

They are both basic and simple, since I got fresh flavorful organic veggies, you can play and add flavours as you feel like that day.

My basic bruschetta recipe:

  • good loaf of bread sliced, i got Eric Kayser’s plain baguette
  • clove of garlic, whole
  • olive oil

I was told from by italian once that the bruscheta should be grilled then drizzled with oil not vice versa. So since then that’s what I do.

I turn my broiler on high and place the oven tray on the upper rack. and grill my slices of bread till brown on both sides. the minute I get them out I rub with garlic and drizzle with olive oil on one side. top with what your heart desires.

Tomato Salad:

  • Any selection of tomatoes you fancy, sliced, chopped or just cut up in half in case of small cherry tomato
  • Red chili, finely chopped
  • Fresh Basil
  • Lemon juice
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • Fresh mozzarella, buffalo or cow

Place ur tomatoes on a plate scatter with chili and teared basil all over, drizzle with lemon juice, olive oil and season with salt and pepper.

slice or tear your mozzarella over the tomatoes. serve over warm bruschetta.

Grilled Rainbow Bell Pepper topping:

  • colorful selection of peppers
  • balsamic vinegar (or pomegranate molasses and a squeeze of lemon juice)
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper

Grill your bell peppers on high heat till the skin bubble and get charred. place in a bowl and cover with cling film till it cools. tear the skin off the peppers and slice thinly.

drizzle with balsamic vinegar and olive oil and season to taste. serve over warm bruschetta bread.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading organic bruschetta at figsandsaffron.

meta

